Go Back   Wordtwist Forums > Wordtwist.org Discussion > General Chit Chat

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:18 AM
Troglodyte Troglodyte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near Austin
Posts: 8
Troglodyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Exclamation Flash player

I accidentally said "don't allow" Flash Player in Wordtwist. How do I undo that? I reinstalled Flash, but that didn't fix it. I need to redo my setting inside Wordtwist.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:48 AM
Spike1007 Spike1007 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 389
Spike1007 has received several accolades
Default

What browser are you using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-21-2018, 11:55 AM
bobert bobert is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
bobert is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

In Chrome or Firefox, just to the left of the URL bar, there should be the letter "i" in a circle - click on that and you might be able to adjust the site-related settings. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-21-2018, 12:06 PM
Spike1007 Spike1007 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 389
Spike1007 has received several accolades
Default

I was going to say that you might be able to a add-ons or plug-ins page, find flash & enable it. Try whatever people here tell you, but more info about your OS & machine might help.

Last edited by Spike1007 : 06-21-2018 at 12:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-22-2018, 03:17 AM
erakis17 erakis17 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 39
erakis17 is on the road to greatness
Default

The only setting I'm aware of on the web site itself is about whether you tell it to dump you into 4x4 or 5x5 automatically. The browser does keep track of whether you allow flash site-by-site, and I'm not sure if that's overwritten by reinstalling flash.

Still, the most recent implementation of the game doesn't use flash, but rather html5, which is a good thing (flash is slowly disappearing for several good reasons). This should be supported by nearly all up-to-date browsers these days. I can run the game on browsers without flash enabled at all. As others said, the specific browser would help.

Are you clicking on the simple "start play" link rather than the other options?
(e.g. from [url]http://www.wordtwist.org/init5.php[/url] )

If you've bookmarked an older version somehow, that might be causing the issue as well. Hope you get it cleared up.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-22-2018, 10:50 AM
Troglodyte Troglodyte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near Austin
Posts: 8
Troglodyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Firefox is what I'm using. I will try the one suggested fix now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-22-2018, 10:56 AM
Troglodyte Troglodyte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near Austin
Posts: 8
Troglodyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Firefox is what I'm using.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-22-2018, 10:57 AM
Troglodyte Troglodyte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near Austin
Posts: 8
Troglodyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Firefox on Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-22-2018, 10:58 AM
Troglodyte Troglodyte is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Near Austin
Posts: 8
Troglodyte is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Hi thanks for your suggestion. I clicked on the "i" and it showed the Flash option, but I can't click on it. I'm running Firefox on Windows 7.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-22-2018, 12:00 PM
Spike1007 Spike1007 is online now
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 389
Spike1007 has received several accolades
Default

I'm also running Windows 7 (Enterprise edition, Service Pack 1) and Firefox (60.0.2). Under plugins, I do show Shockwave Flash, but "Ask to Activate" was my selected option. I tried setting that to "Never Activate", and WordTwist still worked. If I click on the i, I get nothing related to flash.

Which WordTwist version are you playing? Version 2.2 says it requires flash.

Last edited by Spike1007 : 06-23-2018 at 01:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.

Questions or Comments?

The word 'bought' has how many letters in it?